Wk 9 – Art Care Package

In this weeks art activity I had the chance to make an art care package and send it to my mother. At first I had a hard time figuring out what I wanted to make the art care package out of but then I decided to sketch a drawing. It also took me a long time to figure out what I wanted to sketch but I eventually decided to make a sketch of a koi fish. I really like Japanese style koi fish tattoos so I used a tattoo as a platform to sketch from. I have not really sat down and sketch since I was in elementary so I surprised myself after finishing the sketch of the koi fish. It is amazing how our mind can do something that it has not done in a long time and just pick up where you left off. Sending an art care package is similar to snapchat because it is a spur of the moment idea that you are sending. It is a form of showing the person that you are thinking about them at that moment and they are a special person to you. An art care package is different from snapchat because it can take a few days for it to arrive to the person that you are sending it to. Snapchat is an instantaneous form of sending pictures or videos to that person making it not as meaningful because all you have to do is send, and withing second the other person can view it. I think ephemera is valuable because you are saving something that means not much and kind of keeping it as a time stamp. Later on in life you will be able to see the item that would normally be thrown away and it will bring memories of that moment. It is also a great way of recording history that would normally be lost in time. There can be a difference between art seen by many people and art seen by one person in that art care package. The art care package will have an emotional connection to that specific person making it more valuable to them. Although snapchat is created, sent, and received in seconds no matter where you are, it is still the thought that counts. Art care package can be more exciting because you have to wait for it to arrive making it more suspenseful.

img_1057

Leave a Reply

